What You Left Behind

DSCN0171

You did not
go
without leaving
behind a few
things.

Clothes.

Some shirts
of course.
And jackets
you wore
in the winter
to keep your skinny frame
warm.
Your robes
with cigarette holes
accidentally
burnt through.
And a
cap
with steal your face
embroidered on the
front.

Music.

Tapes
and countless
CDs.
Boxes filled with records
too heavy
for me to carry.
The Kinks,
Bowie,
and
Pink Floyd
are all
mine
now.

Eyes.

Big and blue.
Lost
and searching
wildly
for
an
answer.

Memories.

You held my
hand
on car rides
I cried through.
And I
returned the favor
as I
held yours
while you lay
sleeping.

Photographs.

Frozen in time,
you smile.
Holding a fish
in one
with your cap firmly on your
head.
In another,
you’re walking
up the beach.

Going somewhere.

Somewhere

I can’t follow

yet.

And even though
you didn’t want to go

remember,

the most important thing you
left behind.

And I am your
living
legacy.

All my love.