Home » Life Lessons Learned » What? I Actually Learned Something This Summer?

What? I Actually Learned Something This Summer?

endofsummer

The end is near. This Saturday I leave to start my third semester at college. And I’m still trying to figure out what to do with my summer.

Part of me is upset that I didn’t make this summer as memorable as last. Back then, I had made a list of things I wanted to do and made sure that on every free day I had, I crossed something off. This summer, I ended up spending most of my time trying to balance work, volunteering, writing, packing and moving and “free time.”

So maybe it was a bit of a bust. But I must admit, even though I didn’t have the most amazing summer of my life, I managed to learn a lot about myself and life in general.

And since I like making lists…

1.     The names of the people on the books we read are of real people. In other words, there are people out there that have careers as writers. It is a real profession. It could be my profession. Somebody’s gotta do it, right?

2.     The lesson of why not? As in, why not follow your dream? Why not aim higher? Who says it can’t it be you?

3.     The ability to laugh at yourself. You can’t always take yourself so seriously. Accept it, we’re human. We make mistakes. And instead of beating ourselves up over the silly ones, we need to laugh at them. Find the humor in the things you do. The more you laugh, the happier you are, the more you enjoy life.

4.     Technology does not have to be the enemy. It can be a blessing in disguise. It allows us to share our work with people all over the world. We don’t need to be published in order to have our words affect the lives of others. Part of the dream of being a writer can be realized simply through the blogging community.

5.     The belief that everything that has happened in my past and that is happening now will somehow connect in the future. The people that I love and spend time with now will help me achieve my dreams. The things I do now will affect the work I do in years to come. It might not all connect now, but someday it will.

6.     The best compliment to receive is one about your work. Whether it be the work we do to improve ourselves or in our careers. It is nice to have someone recognize the things we put time and energy into rather than something as easy as, “I like your shirt!”

7.      The biggest inspiration is people’s minds. And admiring their hard work.

8.     And the most exciting one for me: you never know who you’re going to meet.

For example, I was volunteering at Blythedale Children’s Hospital for five weeks over the summer. Every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday I’d greet the thin, white-haired man that sat behind the Welcome Desk. A short “Hello, how are you?” and “Have a nice day!” It wasn’t until my last day of volunteering that I mentioned I was getting ready to head back to university. He asked what I study and I hesitantly replied, “Creative Writing.”

His eyes widened and a small, closed mouthed smile formed on his lips. At first, I couldn’t tell if this was the same grimacing smile I typically get when I tell people I’m pursuing Creative Writing. It’s usually followed by a, “That’s nice…” while I know all too well they are thinking, “Good luck with that!”

Instead he said, “No kidding! I had worked in the corporate world for many years and gave it up to pursue creative writing.”

I was shocked, to say the least.

He told me that even though he was making a good salary at his corporate job, he knew that if he hadn’t stopped when he did, he would have never taken his writing seriously. He’s written three novels so far and is focusing on getting them published now.

Then he said, “If there’s one piece of advice I would give to you, it would be this…”

9. “Don’t wait. Don’t push it off. Do it now.”

Do-it-

16 thoughts on “What? I Actually Learned Something This Summer?

  1. I love old people.
    And this post is wonderful. I hadn’t realized you studied creative writing at the university. What’s that like? A lot of focus on structure?

    • It’s funny you ask, because I’ve actually yet to take a creative writing course at my home university. I’ll be taking my first one this semester so I’ll be sure to post about it! The creative writing classes I have taken so far at other schools have varied, though. Two of them were workshops that focused on writing pieces and having them read and worked on in class and the other was a craft class where we read published works and figured out what made them work or didn’t so we could apply it to our own writing. Sorry that was long winded!

  2. A fine post Abbey…your writing and your ideas are very in sync…they have a nature flow to them…it’s a pleasure to read your blog…that was very sound advice that man gave

  3. Pingback: Goodbye Summer! | This Is Life.

Leave a Reply

