Home » Narratives » Entering the 21st Century: Better Late Than Never

Entering the 21st Century: Better Late Than Never

newyearseve2013

One day while in New York, I met a friend. This friend and I exchanged phone numbers. While I struggled to do so, my new friend looked at me and said, “It looks like you’ve never used technology in your life.” And for the most part, my friend was right.

The only piece of technology I have ever loved is my iPod. Other than that, I have despised using technology and have tried my best not to use it for as long as possible.

But now that I’ve created this blog (which I didn’t even want to do because it involved the Internet—I know, this is an embarrassing confession) I realize the importance of technology.

Of course there are some ways that I think the newest technology can be a little excessive. I don’t understand the need for an iPad/tablet when laptops work perfectly fine. I don’t know why I need my cell phone to tell me my latitude and longitude. And I certainly cannot believe why anyone would want to replace a beautiful book, where you can turn the pages, scribble notes in the margins, and admire the cover, with an e-Reader. I understand its convenience but I couldn’t give up actually holding a true book in my hands for a screen. It’s not the same.

I guess I realized that last week while I was packing up my two bookcases to bring to New Paltz. Because for a few moments, I really considered how much less work it would be if I had a Kindle or a Nook. I would save myself a ton of time packing and unpacking. Wouldn’t pull any muscles trying to lift the boxes. And I’d save a lot of space. But then I thought about all the notes I have scrawled along the pages of my books. And how I could never imagine curling up in the pages of an e-Reader. Mainly because it doesn’t have pages.

But I digress.

The reason I’m babbling on about technology is because the day has finally come, ladies and gentleman. I have officially entered the 21st century. And not gradually. I have arrived at full speed.

Not only am I now a proud owner of an iPhone, but I am also on Twitter (for those of you who haven’t noticed my half-hearted reminders at the bottom of my latest posts).

I realized that the time had come for me to get a new phone with easy access to the Internet so I could actually make use of it to connect with my readers and fellow writers. I like being able to know if anything exciting is happening in the blog world as it’s happening. It’s nice to see what posts are getting more views. That way, I know what people like. It’s all so very convenient. And hey, it’s also really fun.

I created my Twitter account (@GallagherAbbey) in order to share my writing with even more people. And also so I can see what my role models are up to. I tweet my posts and if it comes from someone whose work I admire (for example, Monday’s quote was from Grace Potter & the Nocturnals: https://abbeygallagher.wordpress.com/2013/08/05/stars-they-make-me-wonder/) I tweet it to them too. I love how easy it is to connect to those I look up to.

I must admit though, I’m still learning how to use Twitter so if any of you have any tips or advice, please share!  I’d love for you guys to find me on Twitter and follow me! I’d love to see what you guys are up to outside of the blogging world. I love being a part of this writers community and I’d love for it to extend to other social media. That’s how our writing will spread!

Twitter: https://twitter.com/GallagherAbbey

2 thoughts on “Entering the 21st Century: Better Late Than Never

  1. One of the true dilemmas in life Abbey…technology/advancement vs. nature/traditions.
    As a Piano Player I face the same dilemma: Acoustic vs Electronic …Acoustic wins for me but…no playing the Piano at 4 in the morning…no playing in hospital rooms…no playing in the park/outdoors etc. …only playing where a Piano lives…so a balancing act happens…Piano playing during business hours/Electric keyboard playing during “after hours” …Pen and paper sometimes/laptop and software other times…so be it : )

    • I completely agree! I remember talking about this at the She & Him concert with you. I do a lot of writing on my laptop but I also do a lot of writing with a pen and paper. It all depends. My journal writing is always pen and paper. My blogs start and end on the laptop. And the pieces I’m working on sending to literary magazines are a combination of both. They start off on paper and then go on the laptop, and then back to paper with each revision. Keeps me busy!

Leave a Reply

