Home » Narratives » New Paltz vs. New York

New Paltz vs. New York

country-vs-city-

Monday afternoon I decided to take a spur of the moment trip to my apartment where I go to school during the year. My roommate is moving out and I’ll be living all alone for the very first time in my life come fall. The idea of living on my very own is a scary one for sure, but it’s also very exciting. I love the idea of choosing exactly how the place will look and feel. Being able to do exactly what I want, when I want, without having to worry about disturbing a roommate. Everything is already furnished and set up from last year and my half of our bedroom is already decorated. I just need a few odds and ends like a vacuum cleaner and a toaster oven. But although I’d like to decorate some more and really settle in, I’m hesitant to.

Mainly because I’m not entirely sure how long I’ll be living there. (Plot twist!)

After spending a month living in Manhattan, and enjoying the fast-pace of life, the abundance of opportunities, and creative minds around every corner (or at least that’s what I think of everyone there), I’m considering transferring schools. Ideally, I’d love to go to NYU since my summer writing program was so amazing. I’ve talked to professors and students alike and feel confident that their writing program would better suit me than the one I am currently a part of. And there’s no better place to pursue art than the city.

It’s a really big decision of course, mainly because my cost of living would drastically increase. And unfortunately, I’ve still yet to inherit the big bucks from my dad. (Spoiler alert! There were no big bucks.) But I’m not complaining. I’d rather work hard for what I have than have it handed to me. That way I can be proud of what I have.

Which is probably the main reason I’m busting my hump this summer. I’m teaching violin lessons, which is a fast and super enjoyable way to make money. My student is so enthusiastic to learn and I couldn’t be happier with her progress. I’m also volunteering at a children’s hospital and am grateful and amazed with the kids I get to be with. I’m also working at the same retail shop I did last summer, and although it has its moments where it’s enjoyable and fun, I’m not very happy to be back. It’s an accessory store so I’m required to wear all black and AT LEAST six colored accessories each time I clock in. (Seriously, who actually wears SIX accessories at once in the real world?!) It wouldn’t be too bad if I actually liked dressing up, but unfortunately for me, I hate it. Give me a pair of jeans and a t-shirt any day and I’m more than happy. But a job means money. And I need to save as much as I can if I want to make such a drastic move after the semester is over in December.

I imagine that if I’m accepted to NYU and am offered a manageable financial aid package, by January I’ll move into a place in the city to finally settle down. Moving into my own apartment upstate will be great, but the idea of actually finding a space in the city–even though it will be small and I’ll most likely have to share with people–sounds even better because I know that once I’m there, I won’t be leaving anytime soon. I won’t want to. Because I’ll be in exactly the place I’m meant to be.

And now that I have over a year of college and living away from home under my belt, I think I’m finally ready to take this next step in my life to follow my dream of living in the city to pursue my dream of becoming a writer. (Killing two dreams with one move?) Because although I love the school I attend now, the same opportunities just don’t exist where it is located. It’s beautiful; don’t get me wrong.

newpaltz

(Both photographs taken from the bike path by my apartment)

newpaltz2

But I’d hate to graduate in two years and wonder what if I had spent these last two years in the city? How different could my life be? 

I don’t want to live a life of what ifs.

4 thoughts on “New Paltz vs. New York

  1. I vote GO FOR IT and do not look back. Do not pass up this opportunity if u can make it happen. Was just in NYC today with my daughter and wife, 61st and Park Ave right across from Central Pk. We live in Westchester but the city is just such an amazing place. My daughter who is a little younger than u at 18 (she starts Manhattanville College in Sept) had her nose done last wk in the city and this wk was the unveiling thus the reason we were in the city. Lunch and drinks outside near the Plaza Hotel, people watching etc. Just an amazing experience in Manhattan, so much activity and hustle and bustle, such a stimulating environment for an aspiring writer.

    Anyway, have been following your writings and you are a really amazing young woman with all that u have had to go through. Many many would have given up in your situation and yet you have such a positive attitude and outlook on life. Follow your dreams and your heart and I believe that u can make this happen. It is obvious to me that u know what u want to do and I also believe that it is the right decision. I will keep my fingers crossed and say an extra prayer that u can make this happen just as u want it to. I look at my daughter and know that I am always there for her every second of every day for guidance and a hand hold or a hug. Stay strong, positive and focused as u have shown to be and I think you can attain all of your dreams. All the Best…

    • Mike, thank you so much for taking the time to write to me! That was amazing of you. I appreciate your encouragement and enthusiasm very much! It really means a lot to know that I have such great people reading my blog. I plan on keeping you all posted on my decision!

  2. Well written blog Abby! You sound like your handling this challenging decision the best way possible. Weighing the pros and cons of both sides and then realistically considering the real world costs. I’m sure you’ll make the decision that’s right for you. Your blog shows that you are in touch with your dreams and goals and that’s a valuable resource. : )

Leave a Reply

