Home » Poetry » I’m afraid of death

I’m afraid of death

Every day I get a poem sent to my email address from the website http://www.poets.org. If you love poetry and would also like to get a poem sent to you every day, definitely check it out! Today’s poem is by Kathleen Ossip and I hope you like it as much as I did. It’s hard to admit that one day we will all die and it’s something I know I am scared about. I think admitting this fear is the first step to overcoming it. Enjoy. 

old_clock

I’m afraid of death
because it inflates
the definition
of what a person
is, or love, until
they become the same,
love, the beloved,
immaterial.

I’m afraid of death
because it invents
a different kind of
time, a stopped clock
that can’t be reset,
only repurchased,
an antiquity.

I’m afraid of death,
the magician who
makes vanish and who
makes odd things appear
in odd places–your
name engraves itself
on a stranger’s chest
in letters of char.

3 thoughts on “I’m afraid of death

  1. I’m not big on the poem. it doesn’t float very well in my opinion. But the topic is very relevant. I remember when I was younger and I would think a lot about how the earth was going to end. Each night I’d have a new nightmare of natural disasters and humanity leaving earth in space ships. Or I’d lie awake, fearing that if I closed my eyes I’d just never awake again.

    • I hear ya. I liked the poem because of the topic more than anything. I completely relate to how you worried about the earth ending as a kid. Sometimes, I still think about things like that.

Leave a Reply

