Home » Poetry » Happy Birthday Dad

Happy Birthday Dad

Looking through an old journal, I found this poem dated April 11, 2009. I wrote it for an English class and gave it to my dad for his birthday that year (May 2nd). He turned 54. He had just been diagnosed with pancreatic cancer earlier that winter and I wanted to give him something that would show how much I loved him. He passed away when he was 55.

As a kid you weren’t always there for me
but you came when I needed you to be.
A move would never come easy to us
but we muddled though it all with small fuss.
You were finally there for everything
from summer, to fall, through winter and spring.
And even now that things have changed so much
I’ll always be there for a hand to touch.
I guess I know the place where I feel best
and that’s next to you, where I’m truly blessed.
When we’re in the car with music playing,
song after song, our arrival delaying,
the sun shining brightly on our faces,
trees pass by, seeing so many places.
No words are spoken but we’re both content
knowing where we’re going and where we went.
We’re a team, always and forever, Dad.
Everything will be okay, don’t be sad.
Together we’ll get through it all I know
because we’re a team, forever we’ll grow.

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Dad

    • I completely agree. One of my favorite quotes is from a book I read that said something along the lines of, “Death ends a life, not a relationship.” It is so true. I am sorry to hear about your dad (if he did pass away). You are not alone. ❤

Leave a Reply

